The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Idowu Olayinka, FAS, today, Tuesday, 03 April 2019 officially commissioned the first and the second Phases of the Department of Urban and Regional Planning Building, Faculty of Environmental Design and Management, situated at Ajibode Extension of the University of Ibadan. Prof Olayinka, while delivering his speech expressed his delight at seeing the tremendous growth in the Faculty. The Department of Urban and Regional Planning was the first to start M.Sc Housing Programme in Nigeria and has graduated many senior professionals cum academic postgraduates. Graduates from various tertiary institutions can now progress in their academic in various disciplines such as Urban & Regional Planning, Architecture, Estate Management and Quantity Survey at the University of Ibadan. In a speech by one of the founding fathers of the Department, Professor Timothy Olayiwola (rtd), who is also the current President of Town Planners’ Registration Council (TOPREC), “the mustard seed of yesterday has steadily been growing and providing an abode for hundreds of creatures”. This he said to prove the growth that has occurred since forty (40) years ago that the Faculty started as a Department of Geography in 1985 with only three (3) full-time academic staff members and one Studio Assistant, which can now boast of ten (10) full-time academic staff members and numerous adjunct lecturers. He commended the significant effort of Prof Tunde Agboola towards achieving the edifice. He believed that the management will put the structure to proper use and maintain appropriately to advance knowledge and promote professionalism, especially in the area of urban and rural environmental development. The Dean, Faculty of Environmental Design and Management, Prof C.O. Olatubara could not stop appreciating members of staff of the Faculty, for the great achievement. He hoped for more accomplishments in the future. The Ag. Head, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Dr A.M. Alabi greatly appreciated the effort of the management and members of staff and assured that the facilities will be put to good use. The Head, Department of Estate Management, Prof Olatoyin Ojo gave the vote of thanks. Present at the occasion were the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration), Prof K.O. Adebowale; Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academics), Prof A.B. Ekanola; University Librarian, Dr Helen Komolafe-Opadeji; Registrar, Mrs Olubunmi O. Faluyi; Director of Special Duties, Office of the Vice-Chancellor, Prof K.O. Oyewola; members of the Faculty of Environmental Design and Management: Prof Lekan Sanni, Dr O. Ipingbemi, Dr O.J. Omirin, Dr W.B. Wahab, Dr U.U. Jimoh, Dr O.F. Kasim, Dr S.K. Ojolowo, Mrs Janet Ogunmola, Mrs Oluwole, Mr Abdulahi Idou and Mr Femi Famoroti; and the Director, Directorate of Public Communication, Mr O.M. Oladejo.
Directorate of Public Communication

Click to Share

Wildcard SSL