WAAN-I-MENTOR Training Workshop

Theme: Academic Advancement through Innovative Mentoring

The Women in Academia Advancement Network (WAAN) organized a workshop at the University of Ibadan Conference Centre from 5 to 9th December 2021. The workshop with the theme: “Academic Excellence through Innovative Mentoring” was supported by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany, through the Humboldt Alumni Innovative Networking Award to Prof. Oluwatoyin A. Odeku, FAS. The WAAN initiative was aimed at improving the productivity and output of Female Academics and Researchers through focused mentoring strategies.

The programme was flagged off by the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Kayode O. Adebowale, FAS mni, who recognized that the mentoring is a long process aimed at producing a mentee who would ultimately become a mentor to others. He recognized that this was particularly crucial for women in academia, because women have great capacities and need all the support necessary to ensure a successful career.

Dr. Daniella Kniessl, the Head, Africa and Middle East Division of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH), Germany, also delivered a short remark. She highlighted the roles that Prof Odeku is playing as the Ambassador Scientist of the Alexander on Humboldt Foundation in Nigeria and some of the AvH support especially for women. Goodwill messages were also delivered by Prof. Oluyemisi A. Bamgbose, SAN – the Deputy Vice Chancellor, Research, Innovation and Strategic Partnerships (RISP), who recognized the importance of mentoring and suggested that the 6th of December should be commemorated as ‘World Mentorship Day’. Prof. S. A. Jegede, the Director of the Research Management Office and Prof. Oyeronke Odunola also gave their Goodwill messages and highlighted the roles of mentorship in career success.

In attendance were twelve (12) cohorts of women comprising mentors, who are Humboldtians and senior academics, each with two mentees drawn from different institutions in Nigeria. Some Humboldtian in attendance include Prof. A. S. Ajala, Prof. Mubo Sonibare and Prof. Bamidele Olu-Owolabi (University of Ibadan), Prof. Stella Smith (University of Lagos), Prof. Kehinde Taiwo and Prof. Olanike Deji (Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife), Prof. Oluwatooyin Osundahunsi (Federal University of Technology, Akure) and Prof. Petra Nnamani (University of Nigeria, Nsukka).


Click to Share

Wildcard SSL